Copying Files From a Remote Server Using Putty

In order to work with a Unix remote server from my Windows machine, I had to use Putty in place of ssh.  However, I had to move a file from this remote server to my client Windows machine, and Putty is not a parallel of scp (which I normally use on my Mac).

However, pscp seems to be that parallel.  I downloaded it from the same place as Putty:  http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/download.html

Here was the command to download:

username@remote-host:remote-file-to-download-name local-name-for-this-file

You can find a number of examples for using this at http://e-articles.info/e/a/title/Transfer-files-from-the-command-line-with-PSCP/

One thought on “Copying Files From a Remote Server Using Putty

Leave a Reply

